MIXing with the internationals

This week has been one of mixing with different cultures. McMaster university has a program called M.I.X. (McMaster International eXchange) which organises events for exchange students to get to know each other, the university and the area.  It has been great fun and we’ve met some really lovely people.  One of the events was a sports day where we climbed this structure called the Alpine Tower.  It is kind of like a vertical ropes course.  They strap you in to a harness and tell you to go to the top.  I was a bit nervous because I didn’t want to look like an unco idiot falling off the tower, but everyone was supportive and not too mean.  I am not quite sure how but I managed to get all the way to the top – and I didn’t even follow the easiest route!

Climbing this was so much fun, felt so accomplished when I made it to the top!

Mark was crazy good at the challenge (as could be expected) and managed to climb “the corporate ladder” (which is a ridiculously difficult free hanging ladder with very far-apart rungs).  After the Tower we headed over to something called the “Inuit Blanket”.  I had no idea what it was at first, but soon found out when I saw a person being flung into the air and being caught again my the blanket.  Obviously, I volunteered as soon as I could and sat my bum on the middle of the blanket ready to fly.  It was a really cool experience that looked something like this:

Everyone held on the the blanket ready to fling the victim up
They pulled the blanket and up I flew
It was such a rush... I want to do it again!

The Inuit Blanket seemed kind of dangerous.  I mean it would have been quite easier to land on your neck badly or even fall of the edge… but no-one did.  Canada is cool like that; the hikes don’t have fences and you’re allowed to fly up in the air.

I just got back from another MIX event which was very cool.  We went to the Westdale theatre which is a little old-fashioned style movie theatre (it had flashing light bulbs and everything!).  We saw an arthouse movie called Midnight in Paris.  It starred Owen Wilson and Rachel McAdams (as well as many others) and was directed by Woody Allan.  I didn’t know if I would really like it, but the story was basically about Owen Wilson’s character going back in time to Paris in the 20s and meeting people like Picasso, Hemingway, Dali, Fitzgerald and Man Ray.  It as so much fun for me to see lively characters of these people who I constantly read about and study!

Well, my first class at McMaster starts tomorrow.  I have Television and Society, which I am but nervous about because I know nothing about Canadian television… aside from how Canadians are portrayed on American tv.  Thankfully I am meeting up with a new friend in front of the Campus Art Gallery (yes, Mac has its own art gallery!) before class so we can try to find it.

Wish me luck for my first day as a Canadian student!

Leave a Reply

