Zicke, zacke, zicke, zacke, hoi, hoi, hoi!

I’ve been having a conundrum as of late.  I am taking uni subjects that are quite demanding – I really like them and I want to do well.  I am also on exchange in Canada for a limited time and want to do and see as much as I possibly can.  These two goals of mine are not always in line with each other.  If you have been reading my blog, and I am very thankful if you have, you would have noticed that most weekends Mark and I embark on an epic adventure of sorts.  Well, that’s great… but uni work is kind of creeping up into a pile so high I can’t see over the top.  I mean I am getting through and, and so far I have been getting good marks… but I wonder if I can continue my plan of doing everything and doing it well.

The opportunity came up during the week to go to Oktoberfest with the McMaster German Club to Kitchener/Waterloo.  It is the second biggest Oktoberfest in the world after Munich.  It all sounds great, but it was on Thursday night and I had a test on Friday morning at 9.30am.  After much consideration I decided to go, the test was only worth 10% and I have been to every class and studied a lot for it.

Well, Oktoberfest was amazing.  On the bus ride there no-one had a CD and the radio was broken so we watched a very odd procession of enlightening quotes and serene images roll over the TV screen on the bus.  There were a few interesting ones such as: “Art is a lie that makes us realise truth” – Pablo Picasso, and  “Better a diamond with a flaw than a pebble without” – Confucius.

We got off the bus about an hour later feeling strangely pensive, but that all changed as we walked into the giant Oktoberfest tent.  There was a lot of police and security around, which wa a bit of a worry, and we were told that last year there were a lot of fights.  They are also really strict on public drinking in Canada, I know in Australia you aren’t really allowed to drink in public here, but I’ve never thought of it as a huge deal.  In Canada though, taking a sip of beer outside seems to be enough to get you a hefty fine.

Mark and I were really hungry and so found some food straight away.  Mark got himself the full German dinner and a big commemorative stein.

A good German dinner with beer on the side

There wasn’t much variety in the food and it was not very vegetarian friendly, but I had a delicious cherry strudel and a beer to wash it down.  I don’t like beer, I am sorry but I don’t.  I quite enjoy the first few sips, but then as I get closer to the bottom it is just not something I can enjoy.  I tried my best to drink it with a smile though, I mean I as at Oktoberfest after all.

I drank the whole 20oz beer, I can be proud.

There was a band playing German songs and our Austrian friend in Lederhosen was having a great time swaying along with us.  We learnt and sang/yelled some great German drinking songs.  Throughout the night there was a lot of singing:

Ein Prosit, Ein Prosit, der gemiitlichkeit
Ein Prosit, Ein Prosit, der gemiitlichkeit
(Cheer!) Eins, zwei, Drei g’suffa!
Zicke, zacke, zicke, zacke, hoi, hoi, hoi,
Zicke, zacke, zicke, zacke, hoi, hoi, hoi,
Prosit

It is apparently a salute to health and wellbeing, and well it was fun.  There was a lot of dancing that began with the chicken dance, moved to some swing dancing with In the Mood  and then progressed to you typical club type music.  It was awesome – you don’t get cold in Canada if you dance.

The tent/beer hall was full of happy beer drinking people
We met some great, enthusiastic people with some steazin’ dance moves
I even got Mark to dance – he was pretty good!
We were having a great time dancing to a mix of german and popular music… and Mark may have gotten carried away and thrown some things at some people

Well we got home just after 1am and at 9.30am sharp the next morning I sat my test.  My brain was tired but I think I went OK.  Hopefully I can keep up this level of fun and still get through uni… I’ll continue to test the theory this weekend with a 25km hike camping trip around the waterfalls of Hamilton.

Bis Bald!

2 thoughts on “Zicke, zacke, zicke, zacke, hoi, hoi, hoi!”

  1. Well it certainly looks like an amazing amount of fun. Don’t you have to be 21 to drink in Canada? Yes Laura I agree with you about beer – I find the first few sips not too bad but it just gets worse from there.
    what did you throw at people? I like the quotes. especially the diamond one.
    You only have 7 and half weeks left of uni. You are doing great. You can rest when you get home. I love you.

Leave a Reply

