The Blanks

I first heard that The Blanks were playing at the Wollongong Unibar when I was in Canada, I decided that if I was in Australia, I was going.  The Blanks, a.k.a Ted’s Band or The Worthless Pions are an amazing A Cappella band that made me laugh and smile throughout eight seasons of Scrubs.

Within the first few minutes of the show, The Blanks had already played the Scrubs theme (Superman by Lazlo Bane) and a mash-up of theme tunes played in Scrubs (Charles in Charge, Speedracer and The Facts of Life).  I was very confused because I figured this was their most popular material and they would finish with.  To my surprise (and delight) the show just got better.  I didn’t take my good camera, but managed to capture a few shots on my phone.  They make it look like I’m really far away, when in fact the Unibar is a wonderfully intimate venue.  But here’s the gist of it:

image

image

image

When the mix of skits and songs had ended, we all screamed for an encore.  The band came out and played Hey Ya, which was so lovely.  Then, we as an audience were ever so keen, and we got a second encore.  I found the youtube video of it, so watch and see just how clever these guys are:

Leave a Reply

