Well, hello there Guthega

Perisher said that the new Freedom Chair would unlock Guthega. I’m not sure if it’s the Freedom Chair, or the dumps of snow we’ve had these season, but Guthega looks better than ever in my eyes.

Top of the Freedom Chair
Top of the Freedom Chair

It is home to my new favourite run: Parachute. Many people say Perisher lacks good, long runs. For the most part, I agree. Perisher has great variety and heaps of space, but the ratio between time spent waiting for and on a lift and time  skiing downhill is, unfortunately, weighted toward the lifts.  When there is plenty of snow, Guthega tips the ratio back toward time spent zooming downhill.

View from the top of Parachute at Guthega
View from the top of Parachute at Guthega

Parachute can be accessed by taking the Carpark Double Chair and then the Blue Cow T-bar. The Freedom Chair also takes you to the top for your first run down.

Squiggly snow gums at the top of Parachute
Squiggly snow gums at the top of Parachute

It’s long, it’s steep, it’s lined with trees and the view is amazing. Groomed, this run is liked heaven; ungroomed, it’s a challenge; not heaps of snow, it’s closed.

View from on the way down Parachute at Guthega
View from on the way down Parachute at Guthega

There needs to be a lot of snow for Parachute to be all it can be. If it is opened and covered, I will fly down with a smile on my face and eyes darting between my line down the mountain and the breath-taking view of the Main Range. If there is not enough snow and Parachute is closed, there are still good, long runs on offer. Woodpecker and Wombat’s come off the Blue Cow T-bar as well and are great for making some nice carve turns.

Another reason I am enjoying Guthega is the food. Guthega Alpine Inn has the price tag of on-mountain prices (i.e. it’s hard to eat lunch for less than $30/person), but at least you are paying through the nose for good atmosphere, great food and a spectacular view.

Delicious lunch with a breathtaking view at Guthega Inn
Delicious lunch with a breathtaking view at Guthega Inn
View of the dam from Guthega Inn
View of the dam from Guthega Inn

I am reluctant to write this blog, because part of the reason I love Guthega is that it is away from the crowds. Though I hardly think traffic driven to Guthega via my blog will be measurable, the real reason I keep making the traverse over to Guthega is that skiing there I am constantly aware that I am in the Snowy Mountains. It doesn’t feel much like being at a ski resort, but feels like being in nature – which is high up there in the many reasons I love the snow.

 

One thought on “Well, hello there Guthega”

Leave a Reply

